Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce

Advanced Search


Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce
701 Seaway Drive
Fort Pierce, Florida 34949 USA
phone: 772-462-6220
fax: 772-461-8154

Administrator: Dr. Valerie Paul, 772-462-0982

Smithsonian Marine Station staff share a common mailing address and fax number.
Hours of operation are Monday - Friday, 8 AM to 5 PM Eastern Standard or Eastern Daylight Time.
Email addresses are or

Resident Research Staff

Benthic Ecology Program

• Katrina Bayliss 
Research Assistant, 772-462-0992
• Nina Davis 
• Malcolm Mossop 
• Ashley Petticrew 
• Katherine Skura  
Research Assistant, 772-462-0992
• Michelle Stephens  
Research Assistant, 772-462-0992

Caribbean Coral Reef Ecosystems Program

• Zachary Foltz  
Station Manager, 772-462-6212
• Michael Scott Jones  
Program Coordinator, 772-462-6211

Chemical Ecology Program

Dr. Valerie Paul 
Head Scientist, 772-462-0982
• Dr. Justin Campbell 
Biologist, 772-462-0999
• Dr. Sarath Gunasekera  
Research Chemist, 772-462-0975
• L. J. Houk  
Biological Technician, 772-462-0988
• Samantha Iliff  
• Audrey Looby  
• Nelson Rivera 
• Arthur Simas Domingos  
• Dr. Jennifer Sneed 
Biologist, 772-462-0988

Life Histories Program

Dr. Mary E. Rice 
Senior Research Scientist Emeritus, 772-462-0987

Spatial Ecology of Marine Protected Areas Program

Dr. Stephen Box 
Program Coordinator and Supervisor, 772-462-0984
• Steven Canty 
Program Coordinator, 772-462-0985

Tennenbaum Marine Observatories Network (TMON) employees based at SMS

Dean Janiak  
Biologist 772-462-0991

Visiting Scientists

Dr. Max Teplitski  
University of Florida, (George Burch Fellow) Feb 2012 - Aug 2017

Support and Administrative Staff

SMS employees

• Laura Diederick  
Education Specialist, 772-462-6216
• Joan Kaminski  
Administrative Officer, 772-462-0977
• William (Woody) Lee  
Research Specialist, 772-462-0978
• Julie Piraino  
Laboratory Manager, 772-462-0983
• Sherry Reed 
Station Manager, 772-462-0986
SERC employees based at SMS

John Paul Kennedy 
Biological Science Technician, 772-462-0974
Lorae Simpson  
Biological Science Technician, 772-462-0974

Marine Ecosystems Exhibit Staff

• Neal Asthana 
Marine Technician, 772-465-3273
• Jasmine Fox  
Marine Biology Educator, 772-465-3273
• William Hoffman  
Ecosystems Exhibit Manager, 772-465-3273
• Cristin Krasco  
Marine Biology Educator, 772-465-3273
• Nicole Llinas 
Marine Science Camp Intern, 772-465-3273
• Erika Schmitt 
Marine Education Intern, 772-465-3273
• Ellyn Willse  
Husbandry Intern, 772-465-3273


Postdoctoral Fellows

• Dr. Iliana Chollett  
July 2014 - July 2017, 772-462-0993
• Dr. Courtney Cox  
February 2015 - August 2016
• Dr. Christopher Freeman 
January 2013 - September 2016, 772-462-0989
• Dr. Eva Galimany 
January 2015 - August 2016, 772-462-0985
• Dr. Jessica Lunt 
September 2014 - September 2016, 772-462-0992
• Dr. Iris Segura-Garcia  
August 2014 - August 2016, 772-462-0993
• Dr. Francois Seneca  
March 2016 - September 2016, 772-462-0993
• Dr. Nathan Truelove 
January 2014 - April 2016, 772-462-0993

Link/Smithsonian Graduate Fellows

• Bartholomeu DiFiore 
May - August 2016
• Nicole Johnston 
June - August 2016


• Lynn Holly Sweat  
Indian River Lagoon Species Inventory
• Sunkanmi Akintoye 
Indian River Lagoon Species Inventory Intern (May-Aug)


Diane Barbret Chloe Lloyd
Ellen Butler Jodie McClure
Gloria Clifford Chad McDonie
Alonnah Creswell Randy Migliano
Jessica Espinosa Patricia Neal
Nancy Evans Ashley Petticrew
Nichole Gaza Kaitlynn Pike
Kelly Grogan Michael Pipes
John Hallam Barry Smith
Khalila Haque Marjorie Taylor
Kim Honig Valerie Vericella
Judy Keicher Cameryn Weaver
Debbie Langley Peter Worch
Paul Laura Beverly Yoshioka
Marvin Lesman Paul Yoshioka
Patricia Zangrillo

Offsite Research Associates and Collaborators

• Dr. J. Antonio Baeza 
Research Collaborator
• Dr. Mark Clementz  
Research Collaborator, University of Wyoming
• Dr. Loren Coen 
Research Collaborator, Florida Atlantic University at HBOI
• Dr. Donna Devlin  
Research Collaborator, Florida Atlantic University
• Dr. Joseph Dineen  
Research Associate
• Dr. Amy Erickson  
Research Collaborator, Louisiana State University at Shreveport
• Dr. Darryl Felder
Research Associate, University of Louisiana-Lafayette
• Dr. Sarah Frias Torres 
Research Collaborator
• Dr. Paul Hargraves  
Research Associate, retired University of Rhode Island
• Dr. Rick Hochberg  
Research Associate, University of Massachusetts, Lowell
• Dr. Charles Jacoby 
Research Collaborator, Indian River Lagoon Nat. Estuary Program
• Dr. Charles (Ed) Proffitt  
Research Associate, Florida Atlantic University
• Dr. Melany Puglisi Weening 
Research Associate, Chicago State University
• Dr. Adelaide Rhodes 
Research Collaborator, Oregon State University
• Dr. Susan Richardson  
Research Associate, Florida Atlantic University
• Dr. Cliff Ross  
Research Associate, University of North Florida
• Dr. Scott Santagata  
Research Associate, Long Island University, C.W. Post Campus
• Dr. Koty Sharp 
Research Collaborator, Eckerd College
• Dr. Judith Winston  
Research Associate

Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce
701 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, Florida 34949
Phone 772-462-6220, Fax 772-461-8154

Copyright © by Smithsonian Marine Station
Send comments to

[ TOP ]