Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce

Advanced Search


Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce
701 Seaway Drive
Fort Pierce, Florida 34949 USA
phone: 772-462-6220
fax: 772-461-8154

Administrator: Dr. Valerie Paul, 772-462-0982

Smithsonian Marine Station staff share a common mailing address and fax number.
Hours of operation are Monday - Friday, 8 AM to 5 PM Eastern Standard or Eastern Daylight Time.
Email addresses are or

Resident Research Staff

Benthic Ecology Program

• Dr. C. Seabird McKeon 
Research Biologist, 772-462-0998
• Katrina Bayliss 
Research Assistant, 772-462-0992
• Erin Fryauff  
Research Assistant, 772-462-0992
• Sarah Rosewall 
Intern (Jan-Apr 2014), 772-462-0992
• Miranda Steffler 
Intern (Nov 2013-April 2014), 772-462-0992
• Michelle Stephens  
Research Assistant, 772-462-0992

Caribbean Coral Reef Ecosystems Program

• Zachary Foltz  
Station Manager, 772-462-6212
• Michael Scott Jones  
Program Coordinator, 772-462-6211

Chemical Ecology Program

Dr. Valerie Paul 
Head Scientist, 772-462-0982
• Dr. Sarath Gunasekera  
Research Chemist, 772-462-0975
• Dr. Jennifer Sneed 
Biologist, 772-462-0988
• Sarah Harrison  
Intern, 772-462-0988
• L. Jason Houk  
Intern, 772-462-0988
• Kevin Olsen 
Research Assistant, 772-462-0981
• Lindsay Spiers 
Intern, 772-462-0988

Life Histories Program

Dr. Mary E. Rice 
Senior Research Scientist Emeritus, 772-462-0987

Spatial Ecology of Marine Protected Areas Program

Dr. Stephen Box 
Program Coordinator, 772-462-0984
• Nathan Truelove 
Graduate Fellow, 772-462-0993

Visiting Scientists

Dr. Heiter Duarte  
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Jan 2013 - Mar 2014
Dr. Angelica Soares  
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Jan 2013 - Mar 2014
Dr. Max Teplitski  
University of Florida, (George Burch Fellow) Feb 2012 - Dec 2015

Support and Administrative Staff

SMS employees

• Laura Diederick  
Education Specialist, 772-462-6216
• Joan Kaminski  
Administrative Officer, 772-462-0977
• William (Woody) Lee  
Research Assistant, 772-462-0978
• Julie Piraino  
Laboratory Manager, 772-462-0983
• Sherry Reed 
Research Assistant, 772-462-0985
• Hugh Reichardt  
Station Manager, 772-462-0986
SERC employees based at SMS

Michael Lehmann  
Biological Science Technician, 772-462-0974
Lorae Simpson  
Biological Science Technician, 772-462-0974

Marine Ecosystems Exhibit Staff

• Neal Asthana 
Marine Technician, 772-465-3273
• Elaine Christian
Marine Ecosystems Intern, 772-465-3273
• Jeffrey Ellis  
Intern (Feb-May 2014), 772-465-3273
• William Hoffman  
Ecosystems Exhibit Manager, 772-465-3273
• Cristin Ryan  
Marine Biology Educator, 772-465-3271


Postdoctoral Fellows

• Dr. Justin Campbell  
September 2012 - September 2014, 772-462-0999
• Dr. Niclas Engene  
September 2011 - May 2014, 772-462-0973
• Dr. Christopher Freeman 
January 2013 - December 2014

Link Foundation/Smithsonian Institution Graduate Fellows

• Cora Johnston  
Sept - Dec 2013
• Larissa Santos  
July - Sept 2013
• Thomas Sauvage 
Aug - Oct 2013


• Lynn Holly Sweat  
Indian River Lagoon Species Inventory


John Bauer, Volunteer Chrissy Lucas, Volunteer
Derek Casula, Volunteer Pat Neal, Volunteer
Aimee Cooper, Volunteer Hannah Power, Volunteer
Ronnie DeGarmo,Volunteer Monique Sanchez, Volunteer
Jessica Espinosa, Volunteer Erika Steele, Volunteer
Tessa Falatovich, Volunteer Tom Tasker, Volunteer
John Hallam, Volunteer Eleanor Taylor, Volunteer
Trevor Hogsten, Volunteer Dan Thompson, Volunteer
John Holt, Volunteer Jeanne Tyson, Volunteer
Michael Kaiser, Volunteer Peter Tyson, Volunteer
Charlie Kennedy, Volunteer Abby Watts, Volunteer
Debbie Langley, Volunteer John Yoder, Volunteer
Sandra Less, Volunteer Paul Zervos, Volunteer

Offsite Research Associates and Collaborators

• Dr. J. Antonio Baeza 
Research Collaborator
• Dr. Mark Clementz  
Research Collaborator, University of Wyoming
• Dr. Loren Coen 
Research Collaborator, Florida Atlantic University at HBOI
• Dr. Donna Devlin  
Research Collaborator, Florida Atlantic University
• Dr. Joseph Dineen  
Research Associate
• Dr. Amy Erickson  
Research Collaborator, Louisiana State University at Shreveport
• Dr. Darryl Felder
Research Associate, University of Louisiana-Lafayette
• Dr. Sarah Frias Torres 
Research Collaborator
• Dr. Paul Hargraves  
Research Associate, retired University of Rhode Island
• Dr. Rick Hochberg  
Research Associate, University of Massachusetts, Lowell
• Dr. Charles Jacoby 
Research Collaborator, Indian River Lagoon Nat. Estuary Program
• Dr. Charles (Ed) Proffitt  
Research Associate, Florida Atlantic University
• Dr. Melany Puglisi Weening 
Research Associate, Chicago State University
• Dr. Adelaide Rhodes 
Research Collaborator, Texas A&M at Corpus Christi
• Dr. Susan Richardson  
Research Associate, Florida Atlantic University
• Dr. Cliff Ross  
Research Associate, University of North Florida
• Dr. Scott Santagata  
Research Associate, Long Island University, C.W. Post Campus
• Dr. Koty Sharp 
Research Collaborator, Eckerd College
• Dr. Judith Winston  
Research Associate, Virginia Museum of Natural History

Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce
701 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, Florida 34949
Phone 772-462-6220, Fax 772-461-8154

Copyright © by Smithsonian Marine Station
Send comments to

[ TOP ]